Rats

Living out in the country certainly has its challenges.  Our low population area doesn’t get attention when the power goes out until the bigger cities get fixed, there aren’t many (and sometime aren’t any) contractor options to get help, running a well for water has its own set of challenges, and finally there is never a shortage of pests just dying to come hang out inside.  

Mice I can manage.  They’re so small it’s almost impossible to completely keep them out, but we’ve got traps in strategic areas, and so far we’ve been doing pretty well here.  Anything bigger than I mouse I cannot handle.  I’m praying the skunks stay away because for someone with an incredibly senditive pallet, a skunk getting into my ducts and stinking up the place is my nightmare.  And somewhere in between the two are rats.  Gross.  I had literally never seen a rat in the wild until I moved here, just in pet shops *shudder*.  I still haven’t seen one, however two nights ago we started hearing a gnawing, scratching sound from under the house.  This was bigger than a mouse and not typical of possums skunks raccoons or porcupines, there’s no doubt in my mind it’s a rat.  It doesn’t get scared when I stomp on the floor, it just carries on and I can just see it in my mind smirking while it’s making a nest for all of the babies it’s planning to infest my house with!  Last night my husband crawled under the house and scared it off but it came back hours later.  I’m calling someone to help us deal with this, and I’m getting a barn cat next week.

Anyone with tips/tricks/experience here I’d love for you to share, this is a first for me!

Image retrieved from http://www.bulwarkpestcontrol.com/houston/rodent-control

2 thoughts on “Rats

  1. Barn cats for the win on this one! We do not use any poisons on our micro-farm so cats were the only “natural” solution I could come up with. Mind you, I am not a “cat girl”, I prefer dogs but, our barn cats have earned their place. I always have a female that has kittens each year – as harsh as this may sound, predators keep our barn cat numbers “manageable”. Despite that, we always seem to have 4-5 cats in the barn. Best of luck to you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

