Egg-citing Moment!

After months of nurturing and building coops and runs and nesting boxes, my visit to the little ladies this morning produced our first egg! I have to say this was the most exciting event for me so far on the farm, another dream coming true after so much hard work, it feels amazing.
I was so excited I clipped their wings and let them roam in the big wide open (under very close supervision, I don’t trust my dogs with them!) and I cleaned up the coop and run and added some finishing touches. It is adorable watching them chase grasshoppers. I wish I was finished with my dog run so they could have more time out in the open yard without worrying if my dogs were going to eat them.


Anyhow, today is a huge milestone and I’m probably much more excited than I should be, but oh well! Good job ladies, I’m so proud of you!

2 thoughts on “Egg-citing Moment!

  1. The first eggs is super exciting! I remember my then 5and 7 year old fighting over it! I posted in response to your question and said to try to get them out side. I see you are, sorry about that! They just may be slower about it!

    Like

    1. Thank you so much, I’ve actually been getting them outside much more than I was and my dogs are finally used to them being around and wouldn’t you know it, I’ve got four out of six laying the last few days. Thank you so much for all of your input, you’re helping me a ton! ❤️

      Like

Leave a Reply

